More than you can handle…

If you have been in the Christian world for any length of time, you’ve probably heard the phrase “God won’t give you more than you can handle”. In fact, I have spoken this phrase myself, attempting to help someone who felt like their world was crashing down around them.  “Don’t worry. God won’t give you more than you can take. He wouldn’t do that to you”…
Well, I’ve been thinking about this phrase a lot in the last few weeks. In this support raising adventure, I often feel as though I am losing my mind. I can’t keep track of everything. I feel more scatterbrained than I ever have; pulled in far too many directions. I can’t handle everything that is currently on my plate. I am drowning. There are days when I simply want to curl up into a little ball and ignore my responsibilities. And in the midst of all these panicked thoughts, someone will tell me this: “You’re gonna be ok, because God won’t give you more than you can handle”.
As I think over the last few years of my life, I am inclined to believe that this placating phrase is false. There have been countless situations in my life that I couldn’t handle. So many points when I felt broken. Torn apart. I do not believe that God won’t give me something I can’t handle. Want to know why? Because my Father knows me. He knows how independent I am. He knows how desperately I try to do things in my own strength. He knows how I hate to rely on anyone but myself. He knows what a control freak I am.
What if God does give us too much to handle on our own…so that we will run to him? So that we can see that He is in control. That He is powerful. That He desires us to rely on Him instead of on our own strength.
This is a song that I was recently introduced to and it resonates with me, especially as I consider my need to trust in and rely on Christ. I hope it’s an encouragement to your soul as well.

One thought on “More than you can handle…

  1. So true, Elise! In my brokenness (a state in which I often find myself!), I flee to my Father’s arms, which is His desire in the first place. He know us so much better than we know ourselves.

Leave a Reply

